UC Davis Retirees' Association Annual Spring Membership & Business Meeting Thursday, May 11, 2017 AGR Hall Buehler Alumni Center, UC Davis Meeting Minutes

The combined UCDEA/UCDRA Annual Business Meeting began at 11:30 a.m. with a complimentary light lunch and social mingling. UCDEA President Jo Anne Boorkman began the brief UCDEA business meeting at 11:45. She spoke of the coordinated effort to have the joint communications committee. She also brought up the possibility of the Brainfood talk in the fall on September 14, or the possibility of postponing it. It was discussed, and the general opinion was that it should be postponed until November. Jo Anne also brought up the Fall Fest on September 16. It has always been on campus, but URC proposed having it at their place. There was a discussion; having it at URC would be of no cost to us. A vote was taken, and it was approved that it would be at the URC.

JaRue Manning, Professor Emeritus, Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, gave a presentation *Following Your Bliss...Research Alternatives in Retirement*. In retirement he discovered the opportunity to pursue a new research path. He feels retirees should "Follow your bliss," discovering new ventures and having fun. It was a wonderful presentation.

John Meyer, UCDRA President, called the UCDRA business meeting to order. He presented the nominations for 2017-2018.

2017-2018 Nominations:

President – John Meyer (2017–2018)*

1st Vice President – Mike Chandler (2017–2018)*

2nd Vice President – Maril Stratton (2017–2018)*

Secretary – Linda Vieira (2017–2019)*

Treasurer – Diane Mundy (2016–2018)

Immediate Past President – Janet Hamilton (2016–2018)

Member-at-Large – Karen Castelli (2017–2019)*

Member-at-Large – Carl Foreman (2016–2018)

Member-at-Large – Marcia Kasabach (2017–2019)*

Member-at-Large (UCDH) – Kathy Kelly(2017–2019)*

^{*} Denotes nominations requiring a vote. There are no other actions requiring a membership vote.

Meyer requested a motion. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Submitted by Linda Vieira, Secretary