Minutes of the UCDEA General Meeting

May 15, 2014 at the Buehler Alumni Center

John Vohs called the meeting to order at 2:30. He thanked the members of the Executive Committee for their service, particularly Dick Walters, who is stepping down from his position as Membership Chair, and Charley Hess, who had just won the UCD Medal. He also thanked Sue Barnes and Marjorie Ahl for their outstanding service. He then introduced Alan Jackman, co-chair of the UCDEA Committee on Committees, who presented the slate of officers for next year:

President: Lyn Lofland

Vice-Pres: Jo-Anne Boorkman

Secretary: Peter Hays Treasurer: Tom Sallee Archivist: Buzz Haughton

Member at Large: Gibbe Parsons

The slate was elected by acclamation.

Vohs then called for action on two by-law changes. The first called for eliminating the requirement for a winter-quarter general meeting. It passed without dissent. The second called for enlarging the number of at-large members to the Executive Committee from two to three, and for stipulating the desirability of having at least two members on the committee from the UCDHS campus. It also passed.

Vohs then introduced the speaker for the day, the 2013 Distinguished Professor Emeritus Eldridge Moores, who spoke of "From Crown King to Beijing: Living with Revolutions."

Respectfully submitted,

Peter L. Hays